Calendar & Readings

January

Tuesday, Jan 30: Introductions and Syllabus Overview

February

Thursday, Feb 1: Jonathan Culler, Chapter 2: “What is Literature?” / Elements of an Academic Essay

Tuesday, Feb 6: Close Reading / Poetic Devices / Selections from Harryette Mullen and Claudia Rankine
Thursday, Feb 8: 
Maggie Smith’s “Good Bones” and Langston Hughes’s “Let America Be America” / Culler, Chapter 4: “Language, Meaning, and Interpretation” and Chapter 5: “Rhetoric, Poetics, and Poetry” / Preliminary Draft of Essay 1 Due (optional)

Tuesday, Feb 13: Sherman Alexie’s “The Limited” and Rowan Ricardo Phillips’s “Dark Matter Ode”
Thursday, Feb 15: Selections from Walt Whitman’s “Song of Myself” (Read Parts 1-5 and Part 51) – Formal Draft of Essay 1 Due (required)

Tuesday, Feb 20: MONDAY SCHEDULE – NO CLASS
Thursday, Feb 22: Developing a Thesis

Tuesday, Feb 27: Class Cancelled

March

Thursday, Mar 1: Ursula K. Le Guin’s “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas”

Tuesday, Mar 6: Culler, Chapter 6: “Narrative” / Introduction to The Utopia Reader (pages 1 -8)
Thursday, Mar 8: “Narrative Voice and the Unimaginability of the Utopian ‘Feminine’ in Le Guin”

Tuesday, Mar 13: George Saunders’s “The Semplica-Girl Diaries” / Elements of Narrative
Thursday, Mar 15: “Guest/Ghost Object in the Garden: George Saunders’s ‘The Semplica-Girl Diaries’” / Sources and their FunctionsPreliminary Draft of Essay 2 Due (optional)

Tuesday, Mar 20: Junot Diaz “Apocalypse: What Disasters Reveal” / Citing and Engaging with Sources
Thursday, Mar 22: Junot Diaz “Monstro” / Formal Draft of Essay 2 Due (required)

Tuesday, Mar 27: Effective Introductions and Paragraphing
Thursday, Mar 29:
MLA Formatting
Friday, Mar 30: Final Draft of Essay 2 Due

April

Tuesday, Apr 3: SPRING BREAK – NO CLASS
Thursday, Apr 5:
SPRING BREAK – NO CLASS

Tuesday, Apr 10: The House on Mango Street
Thursday, Apr 12: The House on Mango Street

Tuesday, Apr 17: Selections from Virginia Woolf’s “A Room of One’s Own” (Read Chapters 1 – 3) and Alice Walker’s “In Search of Our Mother’s Gardens”
Thursday, Apr 19: Library Visit

Tuesday, Apr 24: “More Room of Her Own: Sandra Cisneros’s The House on Mango Street by Jacqueline Doyle / MLA Works Cited Pages
Thursday, Apr 26: Culler, Chapter 8, “Identity, Identification, and The Subject,” and “In Search of Identity in Cisneros’s The House on Mango Street by Maria Elena de Valdes / Transitions and Stitching / List of Transitional Phrases
Friday, Apr 27: Annotated Bibliography Due

May

Tuesday, May 1: Conferences / Preliminary Draft of Essay 3 Due in person
Thursday, May 3: Conferences

Tuesday, May 8: Presentations
Thursday, May 10: Presentations / Formal Draft of Essay 3 Due (required)

Tuesday, May 15: LAST DAY OF CLASS

Final Draft of Essay 3/Portfolio Cover Letter Due Wednesday, May 23rd at 11:00 PM

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Spam prevention powered by Akismet

Skip to toolbar